UI Improvements

Hi there. I’ve been playing Unturned for about 2-3 years now, and just recently the server list interface was changed, and that’s it. That’s the only interface change I’ve seen.

Personally, I think that Unturned could use some touch-ups on the interface. Obviously this is an opinion, but here’s some of my reasons:

• It’s been like that for awhile now. I think it’s good to refresh the UI; look at Google, or YouTube. They’ve been redoing a lot of their interfaces. Adding onto this, we could go for a modern look or try and stick to that survive-the-apocalypse look.
  • It’s quite dark; or maybe that’s just the transparency. Either way, it could be a bit more visible.
  • It’s hard to read and navigate in some places. For example, the server list. You obviously need to fit a lot of servers in there, but when you see a server you want to join as the list is getting updated (new servers being added), it gets pushed away immediately.

So, here’s some of my ideas:

• Redo some of the main screens; make it appealing, interesting, and eye-catching when the player joins. Make it easier to find things – does a new player know what “Survivors” means? Would they know to find their settings in Configuration? My friends who have tried Unturned have had trouble finding settings.

Here’s a layout drawing with a few of the ideas from above:

https://imgur.com/a/lDPqQ5R (Blue background so you can see the black)

The navigation bar could also go above the news feed, giving the news box a lot more room.

Bug - Also, scrolling with a mouse in the news box doesn’t work. You have to click and drag manually. I’m not sure if this is for everyone or just a Mac problem.