Should config.json be configurable for server owners the way it's configurable in 3.0?

In 3.0, server owners are able to edit almost everything about their servers. They can edit spawn rates, vehicle limits, respawn times, etc. The problem with this was it gave way too much freedom to players to blatantly beef up the point of the game and present game styles that aren’t too pleasant but are played. The issue with 3.0 is how “OP Kit 2000x loot” servers are doing so well is because players at first-time-playing will go “Hmm, this is my first time so I want to go straight into the action” and play on those servers, thus probably never seeing how good Unturned’s actual survival aspect is in general when they see that the medium difficulty, vanilla servers are not nearly as popular.

Personally, I think that config.json should only have serverlist customization. You shouldn’t be able to directly edit every tiny little thing - that should be locked behind the Easy, Medium and Hard difficulties.

In fact, you can argue that those difficulties should be removed or revamped to something like “Normal”, which would be like current day Medium and “Hardcore”, which would be current day Hardcore, but you know, actually a bit harder.

• Unturned II should have Config.json exactly like it is in 3.0
  • Unturned II should have a smaller Config.json, just only with serverlist customization and toggling between difficulties.
  • Unturned II shouldn’t have it at all.

0 voters

Nelson said in the interview that he would ‘not attempt to control servers and server owners’ this likely means server configs may still be just as alterable.

If new players only want to play on these opkits servers, it is likely that they probably wouldn’t stick around with unturned without these servers. I think it is nessesary that some servers have these features.