The Anti-cheat for Unturned II

[NOTE: I’m going to try to explain this the best I can since I’m NOT an expert on computers, but it’s something that is actually critical to the security of the players’ computers]

So, I’ve been looking around online and seeing that people have been worried about anti-cheat software with access to Ring Zero, which many are concerned could act as a rootkit. The vanguard anti-cheat of Valorant is one of these games with said anti-cheat with ring zero access.

The various rings are rings of protection and how much access one application or software has to the most essential parts of a computer. This would not be a problem if you are running a virtual machine for your games.

Privilege rings for the x86 available in protected mode

Ring Zero gives access to you the highest level of permissions into your operating system on your PC. I’m just going to say this right now and it’s going to stick. It is not worth it to put an anti-cheat on to your computer if it can act as a rootkit. It’s not worth defeating the in-game cheaters if some hacker can compromise the anti-cheat and use it to install malware onto someone’s computer. It’s just not worth it.

People are taking computer security serious, now more than ever. We all saw the backlash with Valorant and it’s anti-cheat. I do not want the same to happen for Unturned II either.

TL;DR, don’t have a ring zero access anti-cheat. I’d be fine with Ring 1 or 2, but Ring Zero is a god awful idea. It’s why I uninstalled DOOM Eternal recently, because I was deeply concerned with the anti-cheat.

Also, Mutahar Anas made a video on it, which I find to be pretty good.

4 Likes

It’s worth noting that unturned 3.0 uses battleye which uses very similar methods to valorant with the notable exception being that it only runs with the game.

9 Likes