SB Devlog #0

Get ready, this post is going to be very, VERY big

You’ve probably seen some of the screenshots of the snowy map in the unturned official discord showcase last month, or from the other sources.

What is SB? Snowburgh, in short. The project i’ve been working for over than two years. And if you’ve been in the community for quite a long time and are watching the showcase, you can probably remember some older screenshots of this map. I don’t want to go into history in this post.

(I wanted to finish the map to at least a barely playable state by the end of this year, but realizing that i wouldn’t have time, i decided to make this post as something like ‘2023-2024 development revamp’)

This year, the map turned from state of “in the remake process” to state of “unplayable piece of raw WIP shit that looks pretty decent to show”. This year, I didn’t do enough to make the map playable, but the main goal (complete rework (IT5), with some amendments) was generally achieved.

[Russian Apartment from end of 2022 (top), same building now (bottom)]

About the map itself

The map is a region located in the northwestern part of Russia, somewhere in the area of ​​Arkhangelsk or Murmansk (I still haven’t decided, although the difference is big)
The region is autonomous, was founded around the 60s of the 20th century, has several industrial, scientific and military enterprises on its territory.
The main city is Severopol’ (originally Snowburgh, but i decided to change this name)
Also, i would like to point out that the region was infected only at the end of 2021 - beginning of 2022

To the main topic — Results of this year